what is five elements

What is Five Elements Colours in Fengshui

The traditional practice of feng shui originated in ancient China about living in harmony with the natural world. Feng shui literally translates as “wind-water” and teaches how to properly position furniture and arrange a room to achieve harmony. Colours, which are related to the five basic elements – wood, fire, earth, metal, and water – also play a central role in this practice.

These are full of positive or negative energy, known as chi. According to the proponents of this practice, the choice of colour in a space cannot be solely subjective; it must be made by analyzing all factors present in the space, to achieve coherence.

Experts use colours to direct chi and create beneficial energy changes in certain areas of the home. This should have a positive impact on our well-being, relationships, and productivity. When choosing colours, it is necessary to rely on the harmonious use of the five elements and their circular cycle. Each of the five basic elements has its own colours that, with the element, generate and spread energy, or chi.

Besides colours, different shapes are also associated with a different element.

Metal – White

five elements metal

White symbolizes purity, faith and innocence. It belongs to the element of metal and West and North-West. It can be used to emphasize purity and innocence and to show honesty. It should be avoided in colder climates and in closed work spaces. It is suitable for some studies, bedrooms and bathrooms.

Associated Colours: White, Silver, Gold

Wood – Green

five elements wood

Green is the colour of wood, the East and growth. It symbolizes vegetation, growth and vitality, and is therefore associated with life and nature. It is the colour of peace, balance and ecology. Green can have both a warm and cool character, depending on the selected one. It can be used to create a connection with nature or a peaceful place to rest, to pay attention to something new and to feel young.

Associated Colours: Green, Cyan, Emerald

Water – Blue

five elements water

Blue is the colour of the element of water, winter and belongs to the North. It represents trust, security and the desire for knowledge, and it also symbolizes everything unknown and undiscovered. It can be used to create a mysterious ambience, to express curiosity and seriousness, and it also helps with meditation. It should be avoided in children’s and cold rooms.

Associated Colours: Black, Blue, Grey

Fire – Red

five elements fire

Red represents fire, the colour of strength and energy. It can symbolize danger or joy, it draws attention and creates a sense of warmth. It is the warmest of all the colours, belongs to the South and has fiery energy. It evokes passion and spontaneity, but it must be used with caution. It should be avoided in spaces used by people who are unwell and elderly, and in areas of passage such as hallways and waiting rooms. Red can also be used to boost energy, and confidence or to stimulate motivation.

Associated Colours: Red, Pink, Purple

Earth – brown

five elements earth

Yellow is the colour of the earth and represents abundance. It is associated with intelligence and symbolizes tolerance and patience. It can be used to invigorate a space, improve mood, stimulate thought and arouse curiosity. Yellow symbolizes, among other things, wisdom, happiness and joy. It should be avoided in small or closed rooms and in the bedroom; it is suitable for the children’s room, dining room, kitchen and hallway.

Associated Colours: Yellow, Brown, Beige, Coffee tone

Leave a Comment